Entries by Van Diemen's Band

Lucinda Moon

After initially training in Adelaide, Lucinda graduated from the Victorian College of the Arts in 1991 and was subsequently awarded the Willem van Otterloo and Nickson Travelling scholarships to pursue postgraduate studies in baroque violin.

Kirsty McCahon

Be it the Brodsky Quartet, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Musica Viva or ELISION, Les Talents Lyrique or L’Arpeggiata, Australian Festival of Chamber Music or L’ Orchestre Revolutionnaire et Romantique, Ukaria or Ensemble Offspring, Kirsty relishes her collaborations with extraordinary musicians across all styles from Australia to Europe.

Martin Penicka

Martin Penicka studied with Lois Simpson and Julian Smiles at the Australian Institute of Music. He graduated in 2002 with the degree of Bachelor of Music (Performance) with first class honours.

Catherine Jones

Catherine began her career as a modern cellist in Perth, Western Australia. After receiving a Postgraduate scholarship she relocated to The Hague to follow her passion for Early Music.

Deirdre Dowling

Deirdre Dowling is principal violist of Ton Koopman’s Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, Philippe Herreweghe’s Collegium Vocale Gent, and Cecilia Bartoli’s Monaco-based orchestra, Les Musiciens du Prince.

Jennifer Owen

Currently Principal First Violin of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Jennifer has worked professionally as Principal Second Violin of the Houston Symphony (from 1999-2015).

Emma McGrath

Hailed as a ‘first-magnitude star in the making’ by the Seattle Times, British violinist Emma McGrath is the new Concertmaster of the Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra.

William Newbery

William completed a Bachelor of Music Degree with 1st class honours at the Elder Conservatorium in Adelaide, Australia followed by the Advanced Performance Programme at the Australian National Academy of Music and a Diplom at the Hochschule für Musik Köln in Germany.