2022 Concert Series

BACH CONCERTOS – STATEWIDE TOUR

23 – 29 June 2022

Van Diemen’s Band tours the state again in June with an all-Bach program featuring the group’s newest member: a harpsichord newly-built in the Majorca workshop of Titus Crijnen, one of the finest craftsmen in the world.

Donald Nicolson will be the soloist in two of Johann Sebastian’s concertos for the instrument, together with the Violin Concerto in A minor BWV 1041 (featuring VDB’s Artistic Director Julia Fredersdorff) and the spellbinding Air from the Suite No 3, better-known as the Air on the G String.

Funded entirely by donations from around Tasmania and interstate, our new harpsichord is truly a ‘people’s instrument’.

Tour Dates:

6pm, Thursday 23 June, nipaluna/Hobart Town Hall, Book here.
6pm, Friday 24 June, Franklin Palais Book here.
6pm, Saturday 25 June, Tullah Lakeside Lodge Book here.
6pm, Monday 27 June pataway/Burnie Arts and Function Centre – Town Hall Book here.
6pm, Tuesday 28 June Princess Theatre, Launceston Book here.
6pm, Wednesday 29 June Portland Memorial Hall, St Helens (larapuna/Bay of Fires) Book here.
6pm, Thursday 30 June Livestream – Australian Digital Concert Hall, Book here

Whispering Walls I KOONYA featuring Van Diemen’s Fiddles

The Van Diemen’s Fiddles feature as part of Lightwave Festival on the Tasman Peninsula in an immersive audio-visual performance featuring music, film, stories and sounds inspired by the local area and around Tasmania. The performance features traditional, folk, experimental and classical tunes as well as some originals written by the fiddles themselves. With film, sound and lighting designed by Caleb Miller, Koonya Hall will be transformed into an immersive audio visual journey.

Friday 15 July 2022 6:00 PM – 7:00 PM (UTC+10)

Koonya Hall, 564 Nubeena Road, Koonya TAS 7187

Book tickets online, here.

AOTEAROA/NEW ZEALAND NATIONAL TOUR

BORDERLANDS Chamber Music New Zealand Tour
2 – 15 September 2022

Invercargill, Dunedin, Christchurch, Nelson, Wellington, Palmerston North, New Plymouth, Hamilton, Auckland, Napier

More information here

HARMONIC INSPIRATION – STATEWIDE TOUR

20 – 27 October 2022

Third time lucky? After two previous attempts, Van Diemen’s Band takes the music of Antonio Vivaldi around the state with a selection of concertos from Vivaldi’s celebrated L’Estro Armonico, a collection which dazzled 18th-century Europe and continues to hold listeners spellbound today.

Tour Dates:

6pm, Thursday 20 October, nipaluna/Hobart Town Hall
6pm, Friday 21 October, Gaiety Theatre Zeehan
6pm, Saturday 22 October, munatrik/Stanley Town Hall
3pm, Sunday 23 October, Latrobe Memorial Hall
6pm, Tuesday 25 October, Scottsdale Mechanics’ Institute Hall
6pm, Wednesday 26 October, Portland Memorial Hall, St Helens (larapuna/Bay of Fires)
6pm, Thursday 27 October, makala/Ross Town Hall

VDB CHRISTMAS

15 – 18 December 2022

VDB’s Christmas concerts have become an annual institution featuring the magical sound of children’s voices in a program brimming with Christmas favourites from around the world; best-loved Christmas carols and some new discoveries.

Tour Dates: 

6pm, Thursday 15 December, Franklin Palais
6pm, Friday 16 December, St David’s Cathedral, nipaluna/Hobart
2pm, Saturday 17 December, Holy Trinity Church, Launceston
3pm, Sunday 18 December, Spring Bay Mill, Triabunna