Concert Season

VDB Christmas Event

Van Diemen’s Band presents a joyous program of seasonal Baroque tunes including the Christmas Concerto by Arcangelo Corelli, excerpts from Marc-Antoine Charpentier’s Noels sur les Instruments as well as works by Stradella, Torelli & Handel, and a selection of timeless favourite carols from throughout the ages, featuring soprano Helen Thompson, the Tasmanian Youth Chorale, and debuting VDB’s new chamber organ played by Aline Zylberajch.

Wed 19 December 2018, 6pm
Queen Victoria Museum & Art Gallery, Launceston 

Thu 20 December 2018, 6pm
Hobart Town Hall

Fri 21 December 2018, 6pm
Cygnet Town Hall

Sat 22 December 2018, 3pm
Spring Bay Mill

CONCERT SUPPORTERS  

Breathtaking

In the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, the cornetto was fabled for its ability to imitate the human voice. This encompassed not only its clear and bright sound, but also its agility, range, dynamic flexibility, and articulation, making it sound as though the player were speaking through their instrument.

Hana Blažíková, a Czech soprano described as ‘one of the most exciting voices in the Baroque scene today’, joins world-renowned cornettist Bruce Dickey and musicians from Tasmania’s Van Diemen’s Band. Together, they revive the lost art of this instrumental-vocal pairing in a program framed by the seventeenth century, which also includes the Australian premiere of a new work for the combination by Greek composer Calliope Tsoupaki.

Wed 13 March 2019, 7pm 
Trinity College Chapel (Melbourne)

Sun 17 March 2019, 3pm
Wesley Music Centre (Canberra)

Mon 18 March 2019, 7pm
St James King Street (Sydney)

Tues 19 March 2019, 7pm 
St Andrews Uniting Church (Brisbane)

Fri 22 March 2019, 6pm
St David’s Cathedral (Hobart)

Sat 23 March 2019, 2pm
Tin Shed- Spring Bay Mill (Triabunna)

Sun 24 March, 2.30pm
UKARIA, Mt Barker Summit (Adelaide)

CONCERT SUPPORTERS